Something a bit different today at Friend Friday — a message from me!

Each week, I use this space to shine the spotlight on a fellow book creator’s work. Some of my guest bloggers don’t even know they’re my friends until I invite them to participate (Virginia Euwer WolffMake Lemonade, is a recent case in point). Lucky for me, the children’s literature universe is filled not only with bright stars but generous ones. And I don’t want anyone to miss out on the gems that get posted. So when I asked my extremely PR savvy daughter-in-law Nicole about ways to boost visibility of the Friend Friday posts, she didn’t hesitate: Instagram Live Stories.

Gulp.

But if writing has taught me anything, it’s that the good stuff’s outside the comfort zone. So I’m going to give it a go. My first IG Live Story will be with the warm and energetic Erin Soderberg Downing. We’ll chat about ways she was surprised in the writing of her newest (and buzzed about!) novel, When Life Gives You Lemons, Make Peach Pie. Ready or not, we’re going live Wednesday April 7, 5 pm PDT, 7 pm CDT and 8 pm EDT. My IG “handle” is @kirbylarson. Bring a slice of your favorite pie and join us!

Here I am with Erin Downing (with Alan Gratz and Josh Funk) when we were all presenters at Authors in April back in pre-pandemic times